Find the best airline fares to France and Europe on Air France, click here!
Great fares to Europe and beyond.

Djokovic Claims 2nd Masters Monte Carlo Trophy; Edges Berdych in Final April 20, 2015 Monte Carlo - Novak Djokovic once again found himself under an early siege, but the World No. 1 held his nerve to claim a second Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters crown Sunday, overcoming Tomas Berdych 7-5, 4-6, 6-3.


Djokovic extended his winning streak to 17 matches in 2015, becoming the first player to sweep the opening three ATP World Tour Masters 1000 events of a season. The 27 year old entered Monte-Carlo on the back of completing the Indian Wells-Miami double for a third time and leaves the Principality with 23 Masters 1000 trophies, drawing level with Roger Federer for second on the titles list.


A dominant force in the Masters 1000 tournaments, he has now won 11 straight finals and has taken home the silverware at each of the previous six biggest tournaments on the calendar, including the 2014 Barclays ATP World Tour Finals and 2015 Australian Open. The Serb, who improved to 52-23 in tour-level title matches, adds €628,100 and 1,000 Emirates ATP Rankings points. He extended his lead as World No. 1 to more than 5,000 points over Federer.


Djokovic defeated Berdych in three sets, and the final was not without its share of drama. The Czech stormed out to an quick lead in the opener, winning eight of the first 10 points and breaking the top seed in the opening game. Berdych's serve came under pressure in the sixth game, and after denying a break point with a kicking second serve service winner to Djokovic's backhand, he would surrender the break on the Serb's second opportunity when a forehand was fired wide.


Djokovic looked poised to run away with the set after securing a second consecutive break for 5-3, but he would fail to serve it out in the next game, netting a mid-rally forehand as Berdych levelled proceedings. The Belgrade native would not be deterred, however, sending a consistent barrage of heavy cross-court backhands at Berdych with the set on the line at 6-5, eventually converting his third chance after 53 minutes.


The second set was interrupted by a near-one hour rain delay and Berdych pounced immediately after the skies cleared, breaking for 4-3 and forcing a decider behind a punishing display of forehands that rattled the World No. 1. But the same forehand that guided him to a third set would let the sixth seed down with the match hanging in the balance. Berdych would begin to leak unforced errors from that wing, as Djokovic stormed to a 4-0 double break lead in the decider and closed out the title after two hours and 43 minutes.

Results Monte Carlo Masters 2015

Monte Carlo Men’s Singles Finals April 19

1-Novak Djokovic beat 6-Tomas Berdych


Monte Carlo Men’s Singles Semifinals April 18

1-Novak Djokovic beat 3-Rafael Nadal

6-Tomas Berdych beat 14-Gael Monfils


Monte Carlo Men’s Singles Quarterfinals April 17

1-Novak Djokovic beat 8-Marin Cilic 6-0 6-3

3-Rafael Nadal beat 5-David Ferrer 6-4 5-7 6-2

6-Tomas Berdych beat 4-Milos Raonic 5-2 ret.

14-Gael Monfils beat 9-Grigor Dimitrov 6-1 6-3


Monte Carlo Men’s Singles Fourth Round April 16

1-Novak Djokovic beat Andreas Haider-Maurer 6-4 6-0

8-Marin Cilic beat Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6-3 7-6(5)

3-Rafael Nadal beat 15-John Isner 7-6(6) 4-6 6-3

5-David Ferrer beat 10-Gilles Simon 6-2 6-7(3) 6-1

6-Tomas Berdych beat 12-Roberto Bautista Agut 7-6(7) 6-4

4-Milos Raonic beat 16-Tommy Robredo 6-3 3-6 6-3

9-Grigor Dimitrov beat 7-Stan Wawrinka 6-1 6-2

14-Gael Monfils beat 2-Roger Federer6-4 7-6(5)

Up To 70% Off Closeouts At No Coupon Needed

Past Monte Carlo Masters Champions

2015 Novak Djokovic d. Tomas Berdych 7-5 4-6 6-3

2014 Stanislas Wawrinka d. Roger Federer 4-6 7-6(5) 6-2

2013 Novak Djokovic d. Rafael Nadal 6-2 7-6(1)

2012 Rafael Nadal d. Novak Djokovic 6–3, 6–1

2011 Rafael Nadal d. David Ferrer 6–4, 7–5

2010 Rafael Nadal d. Fernando Verdasco 6–0, 6–1

2009 Rafael Nadal d. Novak Djokovic 6–3, 2–6, 6–1

2008 Rafael Nadal d. Roger Federer 7–5, 7–5

2007 Rafael Nadal d. Roger Federer 6–4, 6–4

2006 Rafael Nadal d. Roger Federer 6–2, 6–7(2–7), 6–3, 7–6(7–5)

2005 Rafael Nadal d. Guillermo Coria 6–3, 6–1, 0–6, 7–5

2004 Guillermo Coria d. Rainer Schüttler 6–2, 6–1, 6–3

2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero d. Guillermo Coria 6–2, 6–2

2002 Juan Carlos Ferrero d. Carlos Moyá 7–5, 6–3, 6–4

2001 Gustavo Kuerten d. Hicham Arazi 6–3, 6–2, 6–4

2000 Cédric Pioline d. Dominik Hrbatý 6–4, 7–6(7–3), 7–6(8–6)