Holabird Sports!

Sony Open Tennis 2014

Djokovic, Serena Win Big in Miami

Djokovic Conquers Nadal, Wins 4th Miami Title. Photo sonyopentennis.com
Serena Williams Claims 7th Title. Photo sonyopentennis.com

March 19 - 30 204 ITS STaff Miami, Florida - Rafael Nadal and defending champion Serena Williams heads the list of participants at the 2014 Sony Open Tennis. World No. 1 Williams will try to win title No.7 having won here in Miami in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, and was finalist in 1999, 2009 and 2013. This period marks No.179 weeks at No.1 for Serena passing Monica Seles who currently sits at No.5 on the all-time list with a total of 178 weeks. Five-time finalist and crowd favorite Sharapova, who is still finding her way back following last year's shoulder injury, takes the honor of opening the match of the tournament on Stadium Court.


Rafael Nadal started his 2014 season the Qatar Open in Doha beating Gaël Monfils in the final. In the Australian Open, he defeated Federer to reach his third Australian Open final wherer the Mallorcan  lost to Swiss Stanislas Wawrinka, whom he entered the match with a 12-0 record without dropping a set, after suffering a back injury losing the match in four sets. He resumed playing winning the inaugural Rio Open   defeating Alexandr Dolgopolov in the final extending his record of ATP 500 titles to 15. At Indian Wells Masters, Dolgopolov would avenge his loss, defeating Nadal in three sets in the third round.


Andy Murray will return to defend his crown bidding for his 10th ATP World Tour Masters 1000 title. The reigning Wimbledon Champion who had back surgery last year also won in Miami in 2009 and was finalist in 2012 before winning 2013 where he defeated David Ferrer in a thrilling final. Seventeen-time Grand Slam champion and two-time Sony Open winner Roger Federer makes his return to Miami alongside three-time champion Novak Djokovic.

Sony Tennis Open Past Champions

Year: Men's Singles/Women's Singles

2013 Andy Murray/Serena Williams

2012 Novak Djokovic/Agnieszka Radwanska

2011 Novak Djokovic/Victoria Azarenka

2010 Andy Roddick/Kim Clijsters

2009 Andy Murray/Victoria Azarenka

2008 Nikolay Davydenko/Serena Williams

2007 Novak Djokovic/Serena Williams

2006 Roger Federer/Svetlana Kuznetsova

2005 Roger Federer/Kim Clijsters

2004 Andy Roddick/Serena Williams

2003 Andre Agassi/Serena Williams

2002 Andre Agassi/Serena Williams

2001 Andre Agassi/Venus Williams

2000 Pete Sampras/Martina Hingis

1999 Richard Krajicek/Venus Williams

1998 Marcelo Rios/Venus Williams

1997 Thomas Muster/Martina Hingis

1996 Andre Agassi/Steffi Graf

1995 Andre Agassi/Steffi Graf

1994 Pete Sampras/Steffi Graf

1993 Pete Sampras/Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario

1992 Michael Chang/Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario

1991 Jim Courier/Monica Seles

1990 Andre Agassi/Monica Seles

1989 Ivan Lendl/Gabriela Sabatini

1988 Mats Wilander/Steffi Graf

1987 Miloslav Mecir/Steffi Graf

1986 Ivan Lendl/Chris Evert

1985 Tim Mayotte/Martina Navratilova