Holabird Sports!

Argentine Open, Buenos Aires

Nadal Registers First Title of 2015, Wins Buenos Aires Crown, Defeats Monaco in Final

atpworldtour.com: March 1, 2015 Buenos Aires, Argentina - Top seed Rafael Nadal survived home favorite Juan Monaco and multiple rain delays to claim his first title of the year at the Argentina Open presentado por Buenos Aires Ciudad. Appearing in his 93rd tour-level final, the World No. 4 added a 65th overall crown. Nadal assumed sole possession of fifth place on the Open Era titles list, breaking a tie with Pete Sampras and Bjorn Borg.


The 28-year-old Spaniard needed one hour and 27 minutes to prevail 6-4, 6-1, breaking on four of nine occasions while not facing a break point on his own serve. After a two-hour rain delay postponed the start of the match, Nadal registered the first break for 4-3 in the opening set. In front of a packed crowd that included Argentine legends Guillermo Vilas, Guillermo Coria, David Nalbandian and Gaston Gaudio, he would reel off eight of the next 10 games to emerge victorious. Nadal converted on his first match point when Monaco fired a forehand long.


Making his first appearance in the Argentine capital in 10 years, Nadal won the title at a fourth different Golden Swing tournament, adding to crowns in Acapulco (2005, '13), Sao Paulo (2005, '13) and Rio de Janeiro (2014). He improves his FedEx ATP Head2Head advantage over Monaco to 6-1, earning $91,050 and 250 Emirates ATP Rankings points.


The Mallorca native extends the run of Spanish dominance in Buenos Aires to seven consecutive years with a titlist (Ferrer 2012-14, Almagro '11, Ferrero '10, Robredo '09). Former World No. 10 Monaco was bidding to become the first home grown Argentina Open champion since Nalbandian won the title in 2008. Appearing in an ATP World Tour singles final for the ninth straight year, the Tandil native was looking for his ninth title overall.

Results Argentine Open, Buenos Aires

Argentina Open Men’s Singles Final Sunday Mar 1

1-Rafael Nadal beat Juan Monaco 6-4 6-1


Argentina Open Men’s Singles Semifinals Saturday Feb 28

Juan Monaco beat Nicolas Almagro 6-3, 6-7(6), 6-4

1-Rafael Nadal beat Carlos Berlocq 7-6(7), 6-2


Argentina Open Men’s Singles Quarterfinals Friday Feb 27

Nicolas Almagro beat 2-Tommy Robredo 6-3 6-2

1-Rafael Nadal beat Federico Del Bonis 6-1, 6-1

Carlos Berlocq beat Blaz Rola 6-1, 6-3 final

Juan Monaco beat 3-Pablo Cuevas 7-6(1) 6-7(4) 6-4l


Argentina Open Men’s Singles Second Round Feb 25 - 26

2-Tommy Robredo beat Renzo Olivo 6-1, 6-2

Nicolas Almagro beat Albert Ramos 6-3, 6-4

Carlos Berlocq beat 4-Fabio Fognini 6-3 6-0

Blaz Rola beat Facundo Bagnis 6-2, 6-1

3-Pablo Cuevas beat Guido Andreozzi 7-6(4), 6-1

Federico Del Bonis beat Paolo Lorenzi 6-4 6-2

1-Rafael Nadal beat Facundo Arguello 6-4, 6-0

Juan Monaco beat 5-Leonardo Mayer 6-4 6-4


Argentina Open Men’s Singles First Round Feb 23 - 24

Nicolas Almagro beat 7-Pablo Andujar 6-3 3-6 6-2

Renzo Olivo beat  Jarkko Nieminen 6-7(3) 5-7 6-0

Alberto Ramos beat Horacio Zeballos 6-4 6-1

Federicoa Delbonis beat 8-Pablo Carreno-Busta 7-6(2) 3-0 ret.

Facundo Bagnis beat Marco Cecchinato 4-6 7-5 6-3

Blaz Rola beat 6- Jiri Vesely 6-4 6-3

Carlos Berlocq beat Diego Schwartzman 6-3 6-3

Facundo Arguello beat Albert Montanes 6-3, 6-2 final

Guido Andreozzi beat Andres Molteni 6-2 6-2

5-Leonardo Mayer beat Stephane Robert 6-0, 6-1

Juan Monaco beat Maximo Gonzalez 6-2 6-2

Paolo Lorenzi beat Thomaz Bellucci 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-1

Abierto Mexicano Telcel Open 2015

Ferrer Wins 4th Acapulco Title; Edges Nishikori in Final

atpworldtour.com: March 1, 2015 Acapulco, Mexico  – David Ferrer continued his stellar start to 2015 by capturing his fourth Abierto Mexicano Telcel title after defeating top seed Kei Nishikori 6-3, 7-5 in the final on Saturday. The 32-year-old Spaniard won his third ATP World Tour crown this year (also Doha and Rio de Janeiro) and improved his season record to 18-1.


As champion, the 24-time ATP World Tour titlist received $343,000 in prize money and 500 Emirates ATP Ranking points. Nishikori, who is guaranteed to rise to a career-high World No. 4 for reaching the final in Acapulco, received $154,620 in prize money along with 300 Emirates ATP Ranking points.


The World No. 9 grasped an early 3-1 lead in the first set and, after trading breaks with Nishikori, served out the first set at love. Continuing momentum, Ferrer quickly raced to a 3-0 lead in the second set. The 25 year old from Japan was able to get one of the breaks back and later fired a forehand to level the set at 4-all. The Spaniard earned a crucial break for 5-4 and a chance to serve for the match. Pressure mounted and the top seed broke back for 5-all, but Ferrer prevailed as he broke yet again and clinched the win in one hour and 49 minutes.


Ferrer hit 11 winners in the match and benefited from 40 unforced errors from his opponent. The eventual champion defeated Igor Sijsling, Marinko Matosevic, Bernard Tomic and qualifier Ryan Harrison en route to his fifth final in Acapulco and his 49th tour-level final. Last Sunday, Ferrer captured his 23rd tour-level crown in Rio de Janeiro (d. Fognini). Nishikori was bidding to win his ninth ATP World Tour crown and second in three weeks, having earned a three-peat on the indoor hard courts of Memphis.


Please enter the code
* Required fields
Please be aware that the contents of this form are not encrypted
There are no entries yet.